Toyota Truck and SUV Model Designations

What are the Toyota Truck and SUV Models?

Read on for a Toyota history lesson. We get asked this question alot. If you are new to the Toyota world you may see these designations all over and wonder what they mean. Below is a list of the Toyota Model Designation as well as other information for that model. Please note that not all information may be accurate.

* Toyota 4Runner (1984-present, known as the Toyota Hilux Surf in Japan)
* Toyota FJ Cruiser (2007-present)
* Toyota Highlander (2001-present, also sold as the Toyota Kluger)
* Toyota Land Cruiser (also called Lexus LX)
* Toyota Pickup (Pre-Tacoma Years)
* Toyota RAV4 (1994-present)
* Toyota RAV4 EV (2002)
* Toyota Sequoia (2000-present)
* Toyota T100 (1993-1998, North America)
* Toyota Tacoma (1995-present, North America)
* Toyota Tundra (1999-present, North America)

Toyota FJ History

The Toyota FJ40 is the model designation for a Toyota Land Cruiser made from 1960 until 1983. Most FJ40 Land Cruisers were built as two-door vehicles with approximately the same dimensions as a Jeep CJ. The model was also available under the BJ40 designation where it had a diesel engine.

* 1960 – FJ40 launched
* 1967 – End of FJ45V production (replaced by J55)
* 1974 – BJ40 launched with a 3 litre 4 cylinder diesel engine
* 1975 – Disc brakes on the front axle
* 1979 – Power steering and air conditioning added to the options
* 1984 – End of J40 series production (replaced by J70 series)
* 2001 – End of Bandeirante production
* 2007 – Rebirth of the FJ as the FJ Cruiser


* The J40/41/42 was a two-door short wheelbase four wheel drive vehicle, with either a soft or a hard-top. It was available with various petrol or diesel (from 1974) engines over its lifetime. It was replaced on most markets in 1984 by the J70 series.
* The J43 was a two-door medium wheelbase four wheel drive vehicle, with either a soft or a hard-top. It was replaced on most markets in 1984 by the J70 series.
* The J44/45/47 was a long wheelbase four wheel drive vehicle, available in two or four door hard-top (station wagon) or two door pickup models. The station wagon model (FJ45V) was the shortest-lived of the J40 series, as it was replaced by the J55 in 1967.
* The Bandeirante was a J40 series built in Brazil by Toyota do Brasil
Ltda from 1959-2001. Identical to the J40 in almost every respect, it had a few stylistic modifications to the grille and used a Mercedes-Benz engine for much of its production life.


Over the years Toyota has changed the engines used in the J40 series. Here is a list of some of them (the power and torque figures may vary depending on the market):

Petrol Engine Capacity (l) Power (hp) Torque (lb-ft) Used
F 3.8 105/125 189/209 1960-1974
2F 4.2 135 210 1974-1984
2H 4.0 103 177 1980-1985
Diesel Engine Capacity (l) Power (hp) Torque (lb-ft) Used
B 3.0 80 141 1974-1978
2B 3.2 93 159 1979-1981
3B 3.4 90 159 1979-1984
OM314 3.8 85 235 (Bandeirante)
OM364 4.0 90 235 (Bandeirante)


* Most J40 series vehicles could have their roof and doors removed, and
with a folding windscreen this allowed for complete open-air experience.
* Before c.1973, original factory winches were driven directly from the
engine. Later models used an electric winch (a Warn M-8274 4-ton model).
* It is possible to replace the original Toyota 4- or 6-cylinder engine
with an American V8 engine. This modification is offered by numerous garages and restorers in the United States.




You may also like...

Sorry - Comments are closed

Poll of the Moment

What kind of vehicle you drive?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...